Tarot Cards and Readings

The Tarot is a deeply ancient tradition of wisdom and divination. It is a symbolic system of visual and numerological archetypes used to interpret the unseen energies surrounding a person’s life or a given situation.


The Tarot Reader taps into these unseen energies with her intuition. A Tarot deck consists of 78 cards - 22 Major Arcana or Trump cards, and 56 Minor Arcana cards, which are further organized into four suits: Cups (feelings, emotions, meaning, and love), Wands (energy, inspiration, passion, and spirituality), Swords (mental energy, intellect, reason, and thought), and Pentacles (material resources, physical security, abundance, and wealth).


Each individual card has a long history of traditional associations and interpretations. Historically, readers have used proscribed “spreads” to lay the cards out and interpret meanings according to their positions. 


The origin of the Tarot is unknown, but hotly debated. The oldest surviving paper decks are from the Italian Renaissance, but many believe that the body of occult knowledge that they codify has roots in deeper time: Medieval Alchemy, Classical Astrology, Hebrew Kabbalah, Ancient Egypt, or even the mythical civilization of Atlantis!